Staff Members

Doug Johnson, Executive Director

Doug graduated from Normal Community High School and Illinois State University. He holds a masters degree in Studio Art from ISU. He earned a Master of Fine Arts degree in painting from Northern Illinois University.

He serves on the executive board of Arts Alliance Illinois, and is the past president of the Bloomington Rotary Club. Additionally, he founded and serves as president of the Area Arts Round Table (a consortium of McLean County Arts programmers) and is past co-chair of the Local Arts Network (a statewide group of executive directors at cultural institutions).

A practicing artist, his painting are in many public and private collections across the county. 

Contact Doug here

Maggie Morton (Kunze), Curator

Maggie is an artist, writer, and poet, who earned her BFA in Painting from Illinois State University in 2016. Kunze currently lives and works in Normal, IL, where she serves as the Director and Editor of Sight Specific, an online publication for critical writing on contemporary art programming in Central Illinois, as well as a Regional Editor for Sixty Inches From Center.

Contact Maggie here


Carmel Rhoda, Office Manager.

Joining the staff in November 2011, Carmel is in charge of membership and bookkeeping responsibilities.  She has enjoyed becoming involved in the local arts community and frequently attends shows and festivals locally and throughout the Midwest.  She is a graduate of Illinois State University with a Bachelors in Sociology.  Carmel and her husband have three children.
Contact Carmel here

Kimberly Babin, Project Coordinator

Kimberly Babin is a central Illinois-based artist, photographer, and writer. A former Art Therapy Major and MCAC Intern, Kimberly has returned to the organization as Project Coordinator to further serve the Bloomington-Normal Area through the arts.  A current Criminal Justice student and former volunteer for the 11th Judicial Circuit Court Restorative Justice Conferences, Kimberly brings with her a uniquely blended background that has reinforced her belief that the arts are an integral part of a strong community.

Contact Kimberly Here

Krystal Kay Lyon, Education Coordinator

Krystal is originally from North Augusta, South Carolina. Her love of beauty, art and community led her to Bloomington and in 2014. Since her move to the area Krystal has connected with the artist community of McLean & Livingston Counties, she started writing for an online film blog out of St. Louis called ZekeFilms and she presently serves at Christ Community Church of Chenoa as Ministry Coordinator.   

Nicole, Intern

Nicole is a senior at Illinois State University majoring in Communications with a specification in management, promotion, and sales, she is also minoring in Art History. Nicole is originally from Hoffman Estates ILwhich is a part of the northwest suburbs of Chicago. She has always considered herself to be a creative person who enjoys art, which being able to have the opportunity to be a team member of the MCAC is a great honor and learning experience to herNicole’s plans after school involve finding a job either in communications or continuing her journey with working in art galleries/museums. Some other aspects about her is that she is good at claw machines, she will kill a bug for you, and love’s ice cream and Mexican food. 

Contact Nicole here

Amber Gravett, Ceramics  Assistant

Amber was born in Bloomington and graduated from Normal Community High School. She earned an Associates of Art at Heartland Community College and was the first ever recipient of the Joseph E. McCauley scholarship. At Illinois State University she earned a Bachelor of Science in Fine Arts with a concentration in drawing. Amber uses drawing as a foundation for all of her artwork, which ranges from animation and illustration to ceramics and printmaking.

Contact Amber Here


Our Board of Directors 

President Dan Galvin, Secretary Mike McNeil, At Large Sally Berry, Treasurer Ruth Anne Friedberg, Bruce Cather,  Allyson Frink, Su Ge, Jared Lacy, Sheila Lamberson, Jane Osborn, Michele Peterson, Craig Queen, Deborah Risberg, Diane Skidmore, Dave Templeton, and Susie Vincent


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software