2019 Festival Timeline

Applications are Due: Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Notification Date: April 8, 2019

Festival Dates: Saturday, July 13 and Sunday July 14, 2019

July 14 & 15, 2018 in Uptown Normal

Judges Peter Olson (NIU Art Museum Assistant Director) and Alfonso Gosálbez Berenguer (local Artist and Teacher) served as judges of the 35th Annual Sugar Creek Arts Festival in Uptown Normal.

Prizes are as follows:
Best of Show: Desiree Swanson, Minooka, IL
First Place Fine Art: Lydia Puddicome, Urbana, IL
First Place Fine Craft: Luis Villa & Jennifer McKenna, Galesburg, IL
Second Place Fine Arts: Cathy Engberg, Peoria, IL
Second Place Fine Craft: Lisa Slotky, Chicago, IL
The D. Bill Memorial Prize for Best Use of Recycled Material: April Sepich, Helenville, WI

The Sugar Creek Arts Festival is now rated as the 100th Best Fine Arts Festival in the United States! 

We are honored to so valued by our artists.

 July 13, 2019 -------10 am - 5 pm

July 14, 2019 -------11 am - 4 pm

in beautiful Uptown Normal!


Festival Shirts

The 35th anniversary Sugar Creek Arts Festival t-shirts are available for pre-order for $15. 

Gildan Heavy 100% Cotton Tees in men's and women's sizes. 

Volunteers get theirs for free! 

<< All album photos 59/126 photos
Dawn Middleton
Greenville, IN
Booth 74

Booth Listing

First Name Last Name City State Booth #
Michael Anderson Madison WI 37
Carolyn Aylward Indianapolis  IN 81
Beverly Baker Chesterfield  MO 49
Bradley Bauer St. Charles  MO 80
Mike & Karen Baum Lebanon  OH           56
Adam Beachy Normal IL 21
Janice  Bees Chicago  IL         131
Jacqueline Bevan Round Lake Beach IL 137
Rachel Bond Bloomington  IL 85
Felicia Breen Alton IL 67
Hill Brin Cotopaxi CO 12
Peter  Brown Northbrook IL 124
Jon Bryan Champaign  IL 40
John Bumgarner Morton IL 116
Shiela Cahill Owensville MO 102
Kim Caisse Hannibal  MO 29
Bekki Canine Lafayette  IN 112
Emily Cellini Henson Antioch IL 125
Joseph Chomyn South Bend IN 41
Fernando Cornejo Bloomington  IL 128
Sean Corner Wichita  KS 9
Felicia Cottman Champaign  IL 113
Jerry Crable Burlington  IA 68
Deana Rose Chicago  IL 42
Julie Dancs Ellenwood GA 35
James Downey Monticello IL 76
Julia Dressler Clarksville  VA 106
Debi Dwyer Boone NC 96
Brock Eddleman Bloomington  IL 69
Kaila Elmaataoui Normal IL 89
Cathy Engberg Peoria IL 48
Tracy Fenwick Hernando  FL 123
Nancy Fermanian Mahomet  IL 54
Jerry  Fortag Bloomington  IL  134
Tim & Pam Frye Shumway IL 82
Philip & Glenda Gangler Normal  IL  33
Natalie Garrsion Armington  IL 149
Su Ge Bloomington  IL 10
Diane  Gonzalez Milwaukee  WI 99
Sue Green Danvers IL 73
Lois Gress Neal Squires  MO 27
Rhonda Gurgone Paols Park IL 93
Mayolo Haro Morton Grove IL 140
Jeff Hart Aurora  IL 53
Rachel Haynes Altona IL 2
Reinhard Herzog Ballwin MO 78
Sandra Holt Bloomington  IL 34
Dale & Gail Horn Estero  FL 75
Sandy James McHenry  IL 31
Kayla  Jenkins Bloomington IL 135
Larry Kanfer Champaign  IL 52
Kara Kirchner Bloomington  IL 50
Frank Kobilsek Mendota IL 88
Phillippe Laine Palm Beach Garden FL 83
John Lamar Rockford IL 105
Marilyn Lamar Rockford IL 103
Shelia Lamberson Bloomington  IL 61
Barry Lane Chatham IL 70
Jimmy Langford Cumming GA 51
George Laurell Ingleside  IL 46
Shelly Lawler Hoffman Estates IL 121
Cynthia Linnabary Roscoe IL 120
John Locus Collinsville  IL 136
Edward  Martin Springfield  IL 38
Kelly McCleary Monticello IL 115
Amy McGovern Peoria IL 7
Jenna  McNair Chesterfield  MO 87
Mike  McNeil Bloomington  IL 39
Jennifer Mercer Normal IL 145
Dawn Middelton Greenville IN 74
Jill Miller Urbana IL 126
Melanie Mollman Hancock St. Louis  MO 79
Barb Mount Delavan IL 98
Terri Myer Fenton MO 127
Rachel Newell Chillicothe  IL 151
Hua Nian Urbana IL 95
Allison Norfleet Maplewood  MO 117
Nicholas Nott East Peoria  IL 17
Pat O'Brien Florissant MO 104
Clara O'Rourke Atlanta  IL 110
Thomas Pabst Huntertown IN 77
Susan Palmer Bloomington  IL 91
Kyoung-Joa & Goa Park Rochelle Park NJ 92
Sue Pasetti Cortland IL 66
Angela Pierce Bloomington  IL 118
Sophia Pip Clearwater FL 59
Lydia Puddicombe Urbana IL 132
Sara Rappee Evansville IN 108
James Rasmussen Mount Prospect IL 23
Tom O. Reed Sandborn IN 141
William Richards Springfield  IL 111
John Riss Streator IL 114
Kevin Roberts Bloomington  IL 153
Sylvester Robinson Chicago  IL 47
Mandy Roeing Downs IL 11
DeanaRose Chicago IL  42
Suzanne Schmid Springfield  IL 15
Kathrin Schmidt  Iowa City  IA 32
Kay Schneider Iowa City  IA 57
Fred Schollmeyer Chamois MO 139
April Sepich Helenville WI 13
Linda Silver Washburn IL 4
Lisa Slodki Chicago  IL  130
Cameron Smith Murphysboro IL 1
Robert Spickerman Sheridan  IL 8
Tim Spicknell Pittsboro IN 19
Peter  Staples Royal Oak MI 109
Scott Sternberg Tremont IL 72
John Stoeckley Louisiana  MO 64
Kate Strong Chicago  IL 129
Tom   Suter Springfield  IL 71
Desiree Swanson Minooka  IL 100
Dave Taylor  Princeton IL 119
Connie Thatcher House Springs MO 122
Kari Thornton Gays IL 97
Randy/Joy Turner Paris IL 143
Joan Ellen Tweedell South Bend  IN 36
Paul Van Duyn Anderson IN  138
Constantine Verros Harwood Heights  IL 133
 Luis  Villa Galesburg IL84 
Jon Walton Middleton  WI 65
JayWennersten  Carol Stream IL86
James Weiler Farmer City  IL 44
Michael Weis Pekin IL 107
Faith Wickey Centreville MI 6
Rod Wiegand Eureka  IL 90
Robin Willey Effingham IL 55
Jeremy Williams Shelbyville  IL 25
Lisa Williams Algonquin IL 45
Lou Zale Deerfield IL 3

RED = North Street

BLUE = Roundabout

GREEN = Beaufort

BOLD = Juror's Choice Artist

We would love to have you, or your group, volunteer at the Sugar Creek Arts Festival!

Do you have a scout troop or other group looking to volunteer? 

Contact our director, Doug Johnson, at doug@mcac.org to learn more! 

2018 Musical Performances



10:00 am    Stone & Snow

12:00 pm    Leah Marlene

2:00 pm     Brian Choban Jazz

3:30 pm     John Wahl


11:00 am    Dave Berchtold

1:30 pm    Joe Zaklan

3:00 pm    Wildermore

Broadway Stage


10:30 am    Sugar Creek Cloggers

12:30 pm    Tom Ricker

2:30 pm      Marcos Mendez


11:00 am    Award Announcement

12:00 pm    Lowder & Manning

2:00 pm     Leah Marlene

Pens To Lens, a project of the Champaign Urbana Film Society, aims to educate local youth about filmmaking. Pens To Lens is a gateway to learning modern technology, classic artistic concepts, communication through writing and dialogue, and collaboration with peers and mentors. Pens To Lens provides opportunities, tools, and learning resources to the education communities of East Central Illinois and gives a voice to students of all backgrounds. Pens to Lens is a fun way for students to learn and express themselves through the medium of film.

Showtimes: 1pm on both Saturday & Sunday at the Normal Theater. 

Admission is free!


The shows are free and open to the public, with donations of any amount appreciated.

"One World, One Sky:  Big Bird’s Adventure"

Saturday, July 14 at 11 AM1 PM, and 3 PM

Sunday, July 15 at 12 noon and 2 PM

Free and open to the public, donations appreciated.

Elmo and Big Bird live in the United States, while Hu Hu Zhu lives far away in China.  

However together they discovered that they still see the same Moon and stars at night!

"Incoming!  Asteroids, Comets, and the Hard-Hitting Stories of Our Cosmic Origins"

Saturday, July 14 at 12 noon2 PM, and 4 PM

Sunday, July 15 at 1 PM and 3 PM

Free and open to the public, donations appreciated.

Narrated by “Star Trek’s” George Takei, "Incoming!” explores what impacts from space teach us about the history of our planet, the solar system, and the universe!

 The ISU Planetarium is located in the Felmley Hall of Science Annex, at the corner of College Avenue and School Street in Normal.





Hotel & Conference Center


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software